Heather Brown, Teacher

My name is Heather Brown. I live in Thomson, but work in Martinez. We’ve lived in the area a long time, but I was raised in Albany.

Q: Please tell us a little bit about your family.
I’m married to Michael and we have 4 children: Matthew, Lizzie, Eli, and Frannie.

Q: Please tell us about your current, past, or future career. What do you love most about what you do?
I’ve always taught something whether fitness classes, dance, Sunday School, or “real” school. I’m currently a kindergarten teacher at Augusta Prep, and I love it! This is my 14th year as part of the Prep family.

Q: What are a couple of your favorite restaurants in our community?
Abel Brown is my favorite nice restaurant, and when in a hurry, I often pick up Zaxby’s.

Q: How long have you lived or worked in our community?
We’ve lived in Thomson almost 20 years, and this is my 14th year teaching at Prep.

Q: If you could travel anywhere in the world right now, where would it be and why?
My oldest daughter and I love “Mama Mia.” She’s a senior in high school, and it would be such fun to take her to Greece as a graduation present.

Q: What is one of your favorite movies? TV shows?
I really enjoyed “The Crown.”

Q: What advice would you give to people?
I hardly feel like I should be giving advice, but I try to keep faith first and allow husband/kids to follow. It’s not always the most fun way to prioritize, but it’s the best way to keep things running smoothly in our home.

Q: What is something on your bucket list?
Big European family vacation.

Q: What is your go to band when you cant decide what to listen to?
I like all kinds of music, so there is no way to name just one.

Q: If you could choose anyone that is alive today and not a relative; with whom would you love to have lunch? Why? And where locally would y’all meet for this lunch?
I would go to Abel Brown’s with a whole bunch of my best friends. Some don’t live nearby, and we’re all so busy. It would be such fun to have my favorite besties all in one place.

Q: What is your favorite thing or something unique about our community?
There are lots of places to be active…horseback riding, fitness clubs, climbing/jumping centers, the river and lake, and so much more.

Q: Where do you see yourself in 5 to 10 years?
Learning to love life as an empty nester!

Q: (Even for friends or family), what is something interesting that most people don’t know about you?
Since graduating from college, I’ve taught almost every type of fitness class or dance.

Q: What is the most beautiful place you have ever been?
The beach!!

Q: Favorite month? favorite holiday? and best single day on the calendar?
I really like fall! It’s a great time to be active outside.

Q: What would you rate a 10 out of 10?
Being a mom.

Q: Who inspires you to be better?
My children and husband.

Q: What is one or two of your favorite smells?
The barn/hay/horse.

Q: Finally, what 3 words or phrases come to mind when you think of the word HOME?
Cozy, comfortable, familiar